Major updates!

Hello everyone! I know it’s been a while since I have written, but, life has certainly been busy. I was diagnosed with Spinal Stenosis. Spinal Stenosis is a narrowing of the spine that causes restrictions to the spinal canal. This has a heavy impact on the nerves, mainly the sciatic nerve.

In my case, I had Lumbar Spinal Stenosis. The narrowing of my spine (in the L4 and L5 region) caused the spinal nerve roots to become compressed. This resulted in sciatica symptoms in my left leg. I had been dealing with severe lower back pain and serious numbness and tingling in my left leg for a year and a half. On June 10th, I underwent a Lumbar Fusion. The neurosurgeon took out a piece of my spine, and fused the L4 and L5 discs together with rods and screws. I spent a few days in the hospital. Recovering in the hospital wasn’t easy. My first time walking after surgery, I almost collapsed. I was able to get around better after resting more. I was released from the hospital, and sent home with instructions and medication. Since then, I have been recovering at home. I had to use a walker to get around for a few weeks, and use a commode for some time.

It’s been 4 weeks since surgery and I don’t use the walker inside the house or the commode. I still use a seat inside the shower because I still get a little shaky. When I go out (which is not very often), I do bring my walker with me. I am off one of three of my major painkillers. I have also completed my home care program. I have my one month check up coming up in a week and a half. My incision is nearly healed, but, the pain is still there. I wake up every day with pain, and it usually lowers during the day. On occasion, I have serious pain, which requires a dose of painkillers (such as today).

My last doctor’s visit, I got in trouble because I told the doctor that I wasn’t taking the painkillers unless I was in extreme pain. They told me I need to take the medication when I’m in ANY pain. I just don’t like taking medication that has a history of making people absolutely crazy. Plus, I don’t like medication that alters my mind and makes me sleepy. I like being productive, even if I’m laying in bed or on the couch.

Anyways, this is what I’ve been up to. I will update when I can. I continue to write. Please check out my project page and visit my Bubblews link. I am on there on a daily basis. I am also working on a short book that I’m hoping to have out by the end of the summer.

Well, time for me to get some rest. I will be in touch soon! Have a great summer!

xoxo Shauna

——–

The first photo is my X-ray from my 10-day post-op check up. The second photo is what my incision looked like on June 16th. The third photo is what my incision looked like on June 29th.

Leave a comment