Take Relationships Seriously

One thing that I have always done is take relationships seriously. Whether it be my relationships with friends and family, or romantic relationships, I always go into them, wearing my heart on my sleeve. I put my all into these relationships and would do anything for them.

In terms of romance, I can’t say that I’ve had the life experience to give advice on adult relationships. I’ve only been in the one relationship, and that’s the one I’m currently in. See, I used to be a very naive girl. I allowed moronic guys to walk all over me. I allowed them to sweet talk me, and then leave me high and dry. I lacked the self-esteem to see right through them. When these guys hurt me, I used to take revenge (yes, I was THAT crazy girl). I used to be the butt of these guys’ jokes. Most, if not, all of the guys I encountered in my past told me that “guys don’t date ‘fat girls,’ they just have their way with them.” Nice, eh? It makes me wonder if they would allow a man to treat their mothers like that.

Anyways, I digress. I want to talk about the seriousness of relationships. I grew up around two sets of grandparents who had strong marriages. My grandparents on my dad’s side had an incredibly strong marriage. No matter what happened (poor health, an out of control granddaughter, etc), they got through it together. They took their marriage seriously. My grandparents on my mother’s side of the family are incredibly strong. They are very health conscious and work hard at living a healthy lifestyle together.
Relationships need to be taken seriously. You have someone in front of you who loves you and depends on you. They want the best for you, and want to take care of you. When you’re in a relationship, you are not only thinking for yourself: you are thinking for two. If you don’t take the bond you have with your partner seriously, the bond will break. The relationship has to be 50/50.

Don’t enter relationships because you don’t want to be alone. Relationships are a serious bond. Make sure you are ready to take relationships seriously before entering them.

Leave a Reply

